All cross-border travelers and returnees from the countries/regions which are to be listed separately among the designated countries/regions with "coronavirus variant B.1.617 first identified in India" are requested, as additional reinforced measures, for the time being, to stay for 10 days at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (limited only to those facilities secured by the Quarantine Station) and then be tested for COVID-19 on the third, sixth and tenth days from the entry into Japan. Then, those who obtain negative results of all COVID-19 tests may leave the facilities but are still required to stay for the remaining period of 14 days after the entry into Japan at a location designated by the Quarantine Station (own residence or others).

Among those foreign nationals, the re-entry into Japan of foreign nationals with status of residence from aforementioned countries/regions to be listed separately will be denied, for the time being, unless there are special exceptional circumstances.

(Note 1) After implementing aforementioned measures, measures for the designated countries/regions with the B.1.617 variant based on "New measures for border enforcement (13)" (May 18, 2021) and measures for countries/regions with community transmission of coronavirus variants of concern based on "New measures for border enforcement (8)" (February 2, 2021), will remain in effect.

(Note 2) The designated countries/regions with B.1.617 variant are designated and published, whenever the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan confirm. The annex attached to "New measures for border enforcement (13)" (May 18, 2021) is abolished.

(Note 3) The aforementioned measures are subject to persons who have stayed in the designated countries/regions with B.1.617 variant within 14 days prior to the day of return or the day of application for entry.

(Note 4) The first paragraph of the aforementioned measures will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on May 28, 2021. With regard to countries/regions which will be designated in the future, those measures will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) of three days after the designation. Moreover, the second paragraph of the aforementioned measures will apply to

all returnees with the status of residence from Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka from 0:00 am (JST) on May 27, 2021, and until this time, the measure based on the second paragraph of measure 2 of "New measures for border enforcement (13)" (May 18, 2021) will remain in effect. With regard to countries/regions which will be designated in the future, the measure will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) of two days after the designation. Note that the re-entry ban for foreign nationals with the status of residence in the latter part of the above will be executed for countries/regions subject to the entry ban.

(Note 5) As for the second paragraph of the aforementioned measure, foreign nationals with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of a Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of a Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by the day following the designation after the next designation and intent to re-enter Japan from those countries/regions, are treated, in principle, as persons in special exceptional circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreign nationals who depart Japan later than two days after the designation. (In the event of re-entry from India, Nepal and Pakistan, foreign nationals with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of a Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of a Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by 13 May, 2021, re-entry from Bangladesh and Maldives, foreign nationals with the same status of residence, who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by 19 May, 2021, re-entry from Sri Lanka, foreign nationals with the same status of residence, who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by 20 May, 2021, are treated, in principle, as persons in special exceptional circumstances. Foreign nationals with the status "Special Permanent Resident" are not within the scope of this re-entry ban.

(Note 6) The second paragraph of the aforementioned measure will not be applied to those who will depart those countries/regions (except for Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka) before 0:00am (JST) of two days after the designation and arrive in Japan after this time.

(End)

- 1 Countries/regions subject to 1 of "New measures for border enforcement (13)" Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Jordan, Netherland, Poland
- *The designation has been effective since 18 May, 2021. The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 21 May, 2021.

Denmark, Kazakhstan, Tunisia, United Kingdom

- *The designation has been effective since 25 May, 2021. The measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 28 May, 2021.
- 2 Countries/regions subject to "New measures for border enforcement (14)" Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
- * The measure stipulated in the first paragraph of the new measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 28 May, 2021. The measure of the second paragraph pf the new measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 27 May, 2021.
- * Until these times, the measure of the first paragraph of the measure 2 of "New measures for border enforcement (13)", and the measure of the second paragraph of the measure 2 of "New measures for border enforcement (13)" will be applied.